Tags

, , , , , , ,

So far so good in my next of the woods with the Green Smoothie Challenge. It has only be about 4-5 days since I started but I do feel a little different. I have more energy and in my mind, I feel like I am doing something great for my body and overall health.

I wanted to share some recipes for making a green smoothie or green monster that each of you can use. I would suggest cutting and freezing your fresh fruit ahead of time so you don’t have to use ice when making your smoothie. I would also suggest using bananas or apple juice as a natural sweetener for your smoothie.

For beginners you really can’t taste the spinach so make your smoothies how you would normally make your smoothies. I did see a few recipes on the challenge site but you can also go to http://greenmonstermovement.com/ which is where I learned about green smoothies a few years ago.

SO here are some recipes and I hope you are enjoying being green! 🙂

Virgin Green Monster

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups organic spinach
  • 1-1.25 cups milk (your choice of cow’s milk, soy, hemp, almond, rice, etc)
  • 1 tablespoon flax (optional)
  • 1 banana
  • ice

Directions:

Hi there, Are you a Green Monster first-timer? Have no fear! This recipe is fool proof. Even the biggest skeptic will love this one. Place the ingredients into the blender in the following order: 1) Flax, 2) spinach, 3) banana, 4) milk. The reason for this order is so the heavier ingredients weigh down the flax and spinach and keep it from flying up around the blender and sticking to the side. Blend everything on the highest setting for 1 minute or so. Finally, add ice and blend on the ice setting. Pour into a large, fancy glass. Sit back, gulp it down, and be prepared to have endless energy!

IMG_8958

 

Berry Protein Bash

Give yourself a protein boost with this yummy green smoothie. Protein burns slower than carbohydrates, so adding it to smoothies helps prevent blood sugar spikes and helps prevent hunger pains. And it’s also great if you are working towards a flat belly or building muscles. Yes, the majority of us are on a mission to get those firm abs back— and drinking a protein-rich smoothie after your work-outs is the perfect formula.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups fresh spinach
  • 1 cup strawberries
  • 1 cup blueberries
  • 1/2 cup almonds
  • 2 cups almond milk

TIP: Remember to get the smoothest smoothie and to avoid leafy chunks, blend your greens and liquid first, then add the remaining fruits.  Cheers!

Berry Almond Green Smoothie