If you were to go online and Google divorce rates you would see that more than 50% of marriages end in divorce. That means that 1 in every 2 marriages actually has a chance at succeeding. On the flip side it also means that 1 in every 2 marriages will fail period.

I am a product of a divorced home. My parents got divorced after 13 plus years of being married. I have to admit that I still struggle as a grown woman with the effects my parents’ divorce had on me. I come from a family of women and have a very diverse group of friends. I mention this because in conversation I always here men and women both speak about wanting to be “married” but rarely do I hear the conversation around what they are willing to do to stay married.

With reality shows and Hollywood creating a false reality of marriage, are we getting married to embark upon a marriage or to have the fairytale wedding? Reality stars like Jessica Simpson, Kim Kardashian and most recently Evelyn Lozado have presented the fairytale “marriage” for the sake of ratings but I wonder did any of these couples prepare to put in the work to be married. In some cases divorce is more celebrated than marriage, which is so sad. I have to ask the question is divorce the new black?

TMZ: Evelyn Lozado and Chad Johnson Divorce is Final